Public holidays in Greece

According to Greek Law every Sunday of
the year is a public holiday. In addition, there are four obligatory,
official public holidays: March 25, Easter Monday, August 15 and December
25. Two more days, May 1 and October 28, are regulated by law as optional but it
is customary for employees to be given the day off. There are, however, more
public holidays celebrated in Greece than are announced by the Ministry of
Labour each year as either obligatory or optional. The list of these non-fixed
National Holidays rarely changes and has not changed in recent decades, giving a
total of twelve National Holidays each year.
A public holiday that occurs on a Sunday is not transferred to another date, with
the exception of May 1, which is regarded by the locals more as a General
strike than a Public Holiday. In addition to the National Holidays,
there are Public Holidays that are not celebrated nationwide, but only by a
specific professional group or a local community. For example many
municipalities have a patron Saint also called ‘Name Day’ or a Liberation Day,
and at this day is customary for schools to have a day off.
National holidays ^ a b c d e f Customary, regulated by
the Ministry ^ a b c d Obligatory, fixed by law
^ a b Note that Easter Sunday and Pentecost, are not official holidays as
they always occur on a Sunday ^ a b Optional, regulated by law
^ Regarded as a General Strike, can be transferred to another date.
Profession-specific holidays Bibliography
Tomkinson, John L. Festive Greece: A Calendar of Tradition. Athens:
Anagnosis, 2003, ISBN 960-87186-7-8 Τ.Ε.Ι. Σερρών, Τμήμα Λογιστικής [1]
External links List of the various days envisaged as
non-working days pursuant to Regulation No 1182/71 of June 3, 1971 [2]

Stephen Childs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *